5 days no cigarettes

istockphoto_7860454-abstract-smoke1I’ve been smoking for a looong time (say 26 years) and this New Year’s I made a resolution to quit. This is not the first time I have tried to quit on New Years. I’m back on the patch. Thank goodness for the patch, because I do need the injection of nicotine. For now, I have to learn to readjust my schedule; my sleeping habits are all crazy, I don’t have any urges to have a cigarette so my lunch hour is non-existant – those cigarettes used to prompt me to go out, smoke and grab lunch.

I am glad I’ve made it to 5 days already. And I do know day 15 will be easier than day 5.

Any other smokers out there who are quitting like me?

11 thoughts on “5 days no cigarettes

  1. I quit three and a half years ago, and still feel like I am “quitting”. I rarely cheat, but do generally think about smoking almost every day. But it’s way easier now than day five. Hang in there chickie. You will feel better.

    I was once flying somewhere for business. I arrived at the airport at 5am and it was raining. This was relatively recent as I had already quit.

    As I was walking in, I walked by a man who was standing outside in the cold rain getting his last smoke in before his flight. He was cold, wet, and smelled like that awful smell that we all know….the smell of stale wet cigarette.

    I think I threw up a little in my mouth walking by him and catching a whiff of that dude. It was at that moment that I said to myself, “I never want to be that guy ever again.”

    Every time I think about smoking and the romance of it all, I think about that guy and it sets me straight.

    Hang in there, and think of how much better you smell.

  2. I smoked for 35 years and now the residue is out of my system. I quit in 1992!! It takes 16 years to undue the damage.

    Now I cannot stand the smell. When someone walks by me I can smell it. It is disgusting. It took me a while to get to this point, but you will get there. Every former smoker does eventually.

    Love your gorgeous Cousin J

  3. I was a social smoker in high school (we’re the same age so thankfully I don’t have to say how long ago that was). It was the smell that made me quit though. I realized everything I owned smelled like smoke – yech.
    As you detox though it will hopefully get easier…drink a LOT of water to help flush your system. And know that all your friends are rooting for you!

  4. Some actual t0bacco history

    1492-10-15: Columbus Mentions Tobacco. “We found a man in a canoe going from Santa Maria to Fernandia. He had with him some dried leaves which are in high value among them, for a quantity of it was brought to me at San Salvador” — Christopher Columbus’ Journal

    1492-11: Jerez and Torres Discover Smoking; Jerez Becomes First European Smoker

    Rodrigo de Jerez and Luis de Torres, in Cuba searching for the Khan of Cathay (China), are credited with first observing smoking. They reported that the natives wrapped dried tobacco leaves in palm or maize “in the manner of a musket formed of paper.” After lighting one end, they commenced “drinking” the smoke through the other. Jerez became a confirmed smoker, and is thought to be the first outside of the Americas. He brought the habit back to his hometown, but the smoke billowing from his mouth and nose so frightened his neighbors he was imprisoned by the holy inquisitors for 7 years. By the time he was released, smoking was a Spanish craze.

    1493: Ramon Pane, a monk who accompanied Columbus on his second voyage, gave lengthy descriptions about the custom of taking snuff. He also described how the Indians inhaled smoke through a Y-shaped tube. Pane is usually credited with being the first man to introduce tobacco to Europe.

    Shortly there after a man said to be in a new craft called “advertisinnngish” asks Pane if he would not mind if he scketched him smiling smoking while a a girl from the nearby village is giving him a kiss and sharing his tobacco tube.The scketch was popular in the village.

  5. One day at a time.

    When you feel the desire rise within you, take a deep breath, fill your lungs with fresh oxygen, and know that you are breathing prana (life force energy) into your body – instead of filling your lungs with cancer causing smoke that is loaded with many other chemicals that are just as (if not more) addicting than the nicotine.

    And eat a peppermint toothpick, enjoying the minty flavor instead of the stale smoke flavor.

  6. Congratulations! Keep it up.

    I quit six years ago. Can’t believe it’s been that long. A few things:

    Dave’s mom quit cold turkey at the end of last year, after smoking for over 50 years

    My my quit when she was the age I am now, and never smoked again

    I still have the urge to smoke now and again – alcohol was never the drug I went for after a hard day at work, or a stressful break up, etc – it was always the cigarettes for me. I could smoke a whole pack in one evening. So at very stressful moments (like when I got laid off back in November) I just wanted a cigarette.

    Despite all the cravings and triggers (long car rides, talking on the phone, seeing people smoking in a movie, after a meal and other satisfying experiences…) I know that being healthy is the most important thing, and that’s what keeps me honest.

    Careful when MadMen comes back on the air – that’s a hard show for me to watch sometimes cause it seems like everyone on the show is always lighting a cigarette!

    Good luck – and if you really really need a cigarette and don’t have a minty toothpick or other substitute – call me or any other ex-smoker friend to talk to you down. I’m sure they’d all say the same :-)

  7. Well done for quitting.

    If you want to help your body release all that built up nicotine from your system follow these steps:

    Make your bed with white sheets
    Run a hot bath
    Add to the hot bath 1kg of Epsom salts
    Soak in the bath for at least 20 minutes
    Go to bed nude (very important)
    Sleep
    Look at the sheet when you wake up, the Epsom salts will have allowed your skin to release toxins, and you should see yellowish stains on the sheet.

    If this doesn’t make you want to NEVER light up a cigarette again, I don’t know what will, except for the smell of stale, wet smoke.

Leave a Reply

