Well, you have a blog now…so write!

Sorry that I haven’t written in a few days.  Quick recap:  I am at 10 11 days no cigarettes and doing okay.  Thank you for all your good wishes and non-smoking tricks.  I haven’t killed anyone yet, so that is a good sign.  I’m so busy at the office I really don’t think about it. So, that’s good too.  I’m also getting used to putting images on this site with every post, as well as  finding images to put on the site (a bit harder and more time consuming, yet I love it when I find the perfect picture!)…now if I can only get to writing text on the site every day.  I’m trying! 

cThe Return of Diplomacy.  Hopefully.

I was watching Rachel Maddow tonight, and she had a segment on Hillary Clinton and the State Department.  Clinton has a very hard task, when she takes that position, because the previous Administration has left key roles in the State Department open, and never hired the people.  Robert Gates, U.S. Secretary of Defense, “….has called for a revival of American diplomacy with an expansion of the State Department’s foreign service, which, he points out, has fewer diplomats than the Pentagon has lawyers.”  http://tinyurl.com/9gpuj5

Sigh.

I remember reading a story about during the height of the Cold War, even though there was a lot of posteuring going on in front of the cameras and reporters of the day, there were two guys in a back room somewhere, one in Russia and one in the U.S, who were able to talk to each other and work it out in the background.  (I will try to find the story and post it if I can.)   This concept of diplomacy, of “talking it out”, was the only way it worked, and frankly, I haven’t seen any of that in the past 8 years.  That Bush did crush that ideal, especially when he said those famous “either your with us or not,” or “we’ll smoke ’em out” statements.  This makes it kind of hard for the guys in the background to talk it out and come to a solution.  Now, we find out that the State Department wasn’t fully staffed with the right talent to begin with , even if they wanted to be “diplomatic”.  I should be surprised, right?

Leave a Reply

