Obama-mania

The train landed in DC.  Welcoming ceremony with huge rock stars at the Lincoln Memorial. http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/7825654.stm I’ve never experienced, seen, or felt anything like this before.  It’s odd.  My knee-jerk thoughts of “government doesn’t care about me” or my long belief in apathy and disgust doesn’t really know what to think about this. I am hopeful.  Yes, I mean the ideal of a government that thinks strategically and can make the decisions in a timely manner and truly help not only our country but the world — that ideal is inspiring.  And I hope the movement that is Obama becomes empowered to implement what he wants.  This is the generation,this is the exact moment in time when a new governmental overhaul is necessary.

See Jack Rosenthal’s NYTimes interesting take on it here:  http://www.nytimes.com/2009/01/18/weekinreview/18rosenthal.html

I hope the Democrats can get out of their own way.  I hope the Republicans don’t make too much of a stink.  Especially now when almost all the Republicans I know seem to have lost a bit of liquid assets these days. I hope this country can rebuild our image around the world.  I hope innovation, science and math begin to rule our schools, and while you’re at it, become openminded to alternative learning techniques and excites people about studying instead of beating them down with the restrictions of No Child Left Behind.  I hope for all of this – and I can’t seem to get out of my own way with all the excitement and celebration of our first African-American president.  I am afraid to become disappointed with Obama, I am afraid to think real change can happen.  I guess 8 years of the Bush/Cheney rule can do that to you.

Photo by Richard Perry for The New York Times

Photo by Richard Perry for The New York Times

Leave a Reply

