Dow drops 250, and I gain a few pounds

yahoo! finance

yahoo! finance

So, I need not recap today’s Dow Jones events; we all know what happened, and what is happening.  The complexity of the financial meltdown boggles the brain.  Now, I found out that mark-to-market rules only apply to SOME of the assets the banks have (there are apparently Level 2 and Level 3 assets that don’t apply to mark-to-market rules).  Thanks Twitter “friend” @atask for the info. So my question is:  How the heck will we “stress test” the banks if they don’t even have to correctly value their assets? Sigh.

3255709408_0cbb5b18e9Sometimes I feel like Charlotte from LOST – my brain is melting, my nose is bleeding and it’s all just a bit too much.  If you don’t know what I’m talking about, click here.

Let’s talk not-smoking.  quit-smoking-burning-moneyI can’t believe I’m not sucking down clove cigarettes like they are candy. Seriously, it’s over 8 weeks, not a puff – and I wonder why I’m feeling a bit anxious these days?  Well.  I don’t care how long I will be addicted to the patch.  Can’t even imagine going to work with out one.  I can make a weekend day without a patch, if I don’t talk on the phone, surf the internet or watch the news.  (haha, a joke!) I find that if I do get anxious, the feelings go away when I eat. So, needless to say, I’ve gained a few pounds – and once the weather gets warmer, I’m planning on using my sneakers in the way they were designed – by running.  I’m right near Riverside Park, a fabulous park right down the street that goes along the Hudson River, and perhaps I could actually do some cardio without dying? I have not smoked a cigarette in 8 weeks – perhaps my lung capacity will have gone up?

Again, Godspeed President Obama.  And Godspeed to us.  Let’s keep our heads down, keep working, keep living, have fun, pay your debts, buy a Hyundai (they’ll give you a nice exit strategy if you lose your job) and play with your family, your kids and your animals.

And, perhaps a few Tylenol and/or Alka Seltzer wouldn’t hurt? (Hey, maybe that is where we should invest our money?  Alka Seltzer anyone?)

As always, would love your comments.

3 thoughts on “Dow drops 250, and I gain a few pounds

  1. Actually your Alka Seltzer reference isn’t too far from the truth. Jim Cramer says that there are still good stock buys. A tip is to go into the drug store and see which OTCs have the most shelf space and e voila, you most likely have a “buy”.

  2. Do not listen to Cramer or any of the CNBC crew. I am giving up watching CNBC for Lent, they don’t know what they are talking about. And they are giving me indigestion! :-)

  3. Loved the Lost analogy. Very cool connections. Adventures is giving up Cramer for Lent? Since when does Adventures celebrate Lent? lol. Love ya’ sister!

Leave a Reply

