Unplugging

imagesThis week’s freefall in our markets hit home some basic symptoms of “the collective”.  (Sheesh, I sound like Captain Jean-Luc Picard from Star Trek, when he was fighting the Borgs not to be assimilated.) “The Collective” is the bubbling of craziness that is attached to us all.  Just think of this past week – actually every person I met had a horrible, stressful, long week. I am sure Monday’s drop of the Dow, Wednesday’s State of the Union Address by the President of the United States, and the flutter of more people out of work, more people on social mediums such as Facebook and Twitter, more collective time for people to use these mediums. I too love Twitter (my new favorite toy is TweetDeck), and can be called addicted.  But at what cost?

As I was reading everyone’s “tweets” on Monday as the Dow crashed, it became clear that there was a state of anxiety.  I became caught up in it.  My heartbeat raced faster, and I was a bit more agitated.  Seriously, a physical state of change had begun and … I don’t have a hell of a lot of money in the markets to even be bothered.  So why was I being affected like this?  Or, more to the point, why was I allowing myself to become affected?

I am curious by nature – and try to solve problems, or at least understand the issues enough to make my own conclusions.  This is why I started this blog – to write down my “take” on the world – as my byline says, “Observing the world.”  Lately I have become part of the conversation, and that is not observing.   That is becoming actively involved.  Hey, I don’t have much spare time these days to be so actively involved in all the conversations.  If I was unemployed, I would be head deep in the conversations, checking out the latest information, trends and ideas.  However, I do have a full time job, and that is stressful enough.

Therefore, starting today, I am now going back to observing. I will let the experts figure out how to solve the problems, and I will write about my opinions of those strategies.  I, alone, can not know everything, as much as I stay up all night to read.  And, I will have faith.  Faith in our leaders, faith in our economists and faith in “the collective”.  We will get through this, and we will look to the future.

Leave a Reply

