Soulive aka Bowlive, Brooklyn Bowl, 3.4.10 – updated

Photo by: Dino Perrucci with permission

Back to Brooklyn.  Great energy.  Brooklyn Bowl never disappoints.

Photo by: Dino Perrucci

Nigel Hall (Soulive, and perhaps the new backup for Derek Trucks’ and Susan Tedeschi’s new band?  That’s the word on the street) opened with a few mellow tunes.  I was impressed.  Nicely impressed. He sings beautifully, can belt like James Brown, and makes a keyboard sparkle.  The night started low key, which was a great way to ease into the craziness that was to come.  Eric Krasno on Guitar, Neal Evans on keys (holy schmoley, the man can rock those keys) and Alan Evans, drums and MC extraordinaire walked on set, and bam! we were off.

Photo by: Dino Perrucci

It was one of those nights where you felt like family was in the house, we were all expected to be here to dance, and was expected to come back tomorrow for more.  Luckily for us, Soulive will be playing until next Saturday.

I went specifically to hear the horns section.  My my, did I hear horns.  Ryan Zoidis, sax;  Sam Kininger, tenor sax & Christian Scott, trumpet.  Wow, nice.


There was this kid there, Eldar Djangirov, who showed up and played the second set of keys on the stage, and Nigel Hall literally stood there, mouth wide opened, in shock at what was going on.  I was on the side of the stage again, and Krasno as well was watchin’ this kid play, no, toast the keyboard.

Photo by: Dino Perrucci

They played around 3 sets, of 5-6 songs each.  The set breaks are short – like 15 minutes, so figure out what you have to do in that time.  I’m used to a nice, leisurely 30 minute break between sets – so, my timing was off a bit last night.  Tonight I will get the groove down.

Look at the smile on their faces.  Lettuce came out and raged.  I mean, I don’t know, the beats were heavy, the funk was phat, the stage ultimately became filled with 10 players, there was no bassist (no bassist you ask?  this is a Funk band after all).  Yeah, that’s what I said, no bassist.  Between the keys, the drums, the horns and the 2 guitars…. yeah.  You see?  Wow.

Photo by: Dino Perrucci

Soulive has only been on my radar for about 6 months – I know they’ve been raging for longer than that.  It’s nice to have a new, updated funk band back in my repertoire… the old one used to be Deep Banana Blackout, which brings me back a long, long time ago.  “In the olden days….”

Photo by: Dino Perrucci

Set List:
Set I
01.Uncle Jr.
02.Turn it out
03.Soulive
04.Hurry Up…And Wait*
05.Rudy’s Way *

Set II
01.Cannonball
02.Hat Trick
03.banter
04.For Granted **
05.PJ’s
06.El Ron

All of set II with Ryan Zoidis and Sam Kininger
* = with Sam Kininger
** = with Eldar

Show was followed with a Set From Lettuce.

One thought on “Soulive aka Bowlive, Brooklyn Bowl, 3.4.10 – updated

Leave a Reply

