Wanee Festival, Day 2 – Friday, April 15 – Updated

Day 2 starts with a little 7 Walkers w/ Bill Kreutzmann and Papa Mali.  It was sweet, but have to admit, it wasn’t the highlight.

No, that would come after with Oteil and Kofi Burbridge w/ The Lee Boys.  Um, that was some incredible funky stuff going down on the Mushroom Stage.  Way high energy, like stamp your feet in the sand, shake your head, oooh boy this was good stuff coming off the stage.  They played an hour and it was incredible.  I’ve never seen the Lee Boys, from South Florida, and good lord! they were steaming in that little forest called the Mushroom Stage. Oteil kept that bass grooving fast and low, Kofi’s keys screaming through the shredding guitars, -screaming pedal steel guitar played by Roosevelt and the pounding drums… Oteil scats, oh yeah.  Fast, funky, fun.

Hear the craziness on Archive

Spirit of Suwanee Magical Moment: Run into another friend in the immense crowd of people shaking and dancing, and she led me, holding my hand to connect with another friend.  Yes, I felt the Spirit.

Then no break for the weary as I heard Stephen Stills in the background as I wandered the venue with a buddy on a shopping trip.  We bought sunglasses and these hemp rope sandals as Stephen played from the Peach Stage.  Things now get a little crazy, with all the things to do, people to see. I was running back and forth from each stage.  My friend went one way, I went another, and some how, miraculously, we kept bumping into each other in a crowd of 23,000 16,000.  Seriously, how does that happen??  Spirit of the Suwanee Moments all around me.

So, to cool down from that bit of crazy, I went for a walk and heard North Mississippi Allstars while wondering around.  They rocked, it was a bluesy kind of southern rock thing, but raged.  Hard rock, shredding guitars, the sun was beaming down.  So beautiful, danced so hard.  Smile beginning to hurt my face.  Listen here at Archive

JJ Grey and Mofro. 2 horns and they jam some funky stuff.  My notes say:  Raging guitar, voice like the Black Crowes, Raging, Shaking head, dancing, shaking ass, dancing.  Um.  Well… hah.  That says it all, doesn’t it?  Again, another band to put on the list to see again and again.  Listen here at Archive.

Hot Tuna no recollection at all.  Unknown.

Widespread Panic.  At this point my friend and I split and I went to the Peach Stage to see Widespread.  Damn, there was a lot of people there and I started to flit around the field.  I was trying to scope out a place to dance, as well as find my Orlando camp family, but to no avail.  But WSP raged!  Wailed up there I mean.  I went to the right of the stage, and then was on a mission to get pictures of these guys.  I ended up standing in the taper section where I met my NYC taper friend and took pics.  And my ears were naked, with no earplugs, so I suspect I blew them out right there.  I know better than to stand in front of the soundboard…not only is it the sweet spot, but it’s the loudest area too.  I need serious ear protection…., but that’s another blog post.  Yes, WSP raged it Friday night.  I was floating, I was dancing and the smile was wide.  Heaven.

Lost Vortex #2: I lost my smokes.  Ridiculous I know.  But still, I have no idea what was going on.  I was becoming afraid for the #3 lost thing, as I had now lost two very important things.  I was becoming used to the fact that I had to just give it up, whatever happens is meant to be.  This is sort of freeing in a bizarre way, but a good lesson nonetheless.

Allman Brothers Band Oh good lord.  Something about fast guitars, 2 drums, and all the songs you know by heart and love.  I danced.  Danced Hard.  Danced outside the Peach Stage, it didn’t matter, you could hear them where I was.  Loving it.  Smiling.  Having an incredible time.  No set lists, pass along if you have.  My buddy had to do a bit of business so we made plans to meet up “on the right side near the VIP tent”.  It was only until I got into the Peach Stage area that I realized this would be a hard task.  But, Spirit of Suwanee moment strikes again, and we found each other.  See, you just have to give it up to the Spirit I guess.

After grabbing a slice of pizza (it was so good) we were all off to see Gov’t Mule at the Mushroom Stage.  I went back to camp, and waited to hear noodling from the other side of the fence.  Um, I have nothing to say…. Warren shredded, Kofi went up with his flute and played a couple of songs, the set list was incredible.  They started off with a few Pink Floyd songs, One of these Days and Fearless.  They ended the set with Soul Shine.  The whole place was singing and dancing.  Beautiful…. just incredibly beautiful.  I was swooning, shining and floating…I couldn’t wait for more.  Ahhhh…Wanee, Day 2.

Leave a Reply

