Nateva Festival-Day 2, Saturday, July 3

Day 2 started with a HOT summer morning, and me jumping out of the tent around 10am.  My new camp family hooked me up with the ice coffee, and the morning shower consisted of me, a cold spigot and a bar of soap.  I heard the Roots of Creation from the Port City Music Hall and they reminded me of 80’s music – very John Water’s movie score-esque.

Photo by: Krista Labbe

I walked down to the main stage area to hear a bit of Ryan Montbleau Band.  I heard him for the first time the night before, the buzz about this guy is pretty loud, and I was pretty much blown away.  Scorchin’ keys and guitar.  I recommend you check this guy out if you get a chance.

photo by: Michael Rossman

Next up was John Brown’s Body.  Again, I had never seen these guys and I was in for a ride.  HEAVY bass, reggae beat with hip-hop lyrics and brass.  Sax, trombone, trumpet.  Whooo.  Those horns rocked the place into a killer funky reggae jam, and I ended up win a fist pumping bounce.  High energy, great tunes, tight band.  Yeah.  That was fun.

photo by: Geoff Stairs

Surprise of the day? Crash Kings.  I went back to the camp for some shade, food and liquid and I could hear them perfectly.  They crushed it.  Great vocals, tight, fast guitars (my favorite), tight beats.  They kind of reminded me a bit of Jethro Tull – these guys were one of my favorite new bands of the weekend, I can’t wait to see them again.  Check ’em out here.

Click for more with The Flaming Lips, Giant Panda Guerilla Dub Squad, Toubab Krewe and EOTO.

Craziest show of Nateva? The Flaming Lips. Wack-a-doo. Total Wack-a-doo.  Between the naked chick on the LED screen behind the band, to the electronic, pulsating vagina, to the confetti and the balloons and the lasers, to the lead singer walking in the crowd in a huge bubble, to the “dancers” in the orange suits on the side of the stage – it was a lot for me to process.  It was eyeball overload so I closed my eyes to hear the music without the show and I have to admit, I wasn’t blown away.  When I watched the goings on of the band, the performance, the extravaganza and the crowd, it was amazing.  Without the sensory overload though, it was a different story.  For me.  Only for me.

Late Night Shows: Now, this is when my music schizophrenia mode kicked in hardcore.

photo by: Jake Horwitch

First up was Giant Panda Guerilla Dub Squad which was FONKI.  Way funky.  Loved it.  Then after a sparkler extravaganza outside the Port City Music Hall I went to find the barn stage for Toubab Krewe.  I couldn’t find it, all of a sudden I lost my bearings (unknown why that would be, it was only 1:30 am).  Luckily I ran into my Karma Wash buddies that helped me find my way, and walked me to the Barn Stage for Toubab.

Go see Toubab Krewe.  From Asheville, NC, these guys kick it with funky, groovy beats, hints of island reggae and African percussion, samba sounds and incredible percussions.  I danced so hard, the whole barn was smiling.  I didn’t want them to end.

Late night ended with a 2:45 am show from EOTO. Um, I guess we were running late.  Live Dub-Step, Live House, Live Electronica.  EOTO is Michael Travis and Jason Hann from The String Cheese Incident.  This was my second time seeing them, and they still remind me of a house version of Theivery Corporation.  They were fun, the house was packed, people were smiling and it gets very fuzzy now.  I wandered upstairs and found myself a chair to sit in, while still being able to watch them through the window, and I fell asleep there.  Actually, no, my eyes were resting and I wandered out of there around 4am.  I don’t want to be one of those people passed out at a club so I got myself back to the camp and slept soundly… right through the Incident.

Day 3 to come with Derek Trucks & Susan Tedeschi Band, Furthur and Moonalice.  Stay tuned!

Check out Jam Base’s photos, etc. here for more.

2 thoughts on “Nateva Festival-Day 2, Saturday, July 3

  1. Dear Meredith,

    Your write-ups are fantastic!!! Nateva was a wonderful festival for us, but we didn’t get to see much of it. Thanks to your reviews, I have a real sense of how amazing Nateva was for the fans.

    That said, I’m still bummed about your Incident.

    Chubby Wombat Moonalice

  2. haha nice dub squad pic……….from facebook? LOL

    I must have grabbed it from Facebook – thank you! –View Skewed

Leave a Reply

