Gathering of the Vibes, Day 2, July 30

Remember folks, it’s a marathon, not a sprint.

Pace yourselves.  Day 2.

Up and Getting Ready: I jumped out of the tent at 8:30.  Considering I had passed out before midnight, that was a good night’s sleep and I was ready to go.  It was already scorching by 8:30 and my ladies had coffee ready for me.  (Thank you Theresa) Breakfast consisted of a cheesy omelet, coffee and bacon.  I decided to take a shower in the L. I. Sound, please don’t judge me-I know exactly how nasty the Bridgeport Sound is, yet – I still did it.  Met more friendly people on the way as I walked towards the beach.

With soap and shampoo in hand, I proceeded to bathe myself in the water.  As things normally go for me at festivals, I lost the soap and my sunglasses.  (what is with the sunglasses, seriously!  Every festival I have lost sunglasses (Wanee, Mountain Jam, Nateva and now Vibes).  By this point, I don’t get upset anymore, I just go to a vendor and spend my $10 and get another pair.  But, sheesh.

photo by: Gigi

Radiators: We went down to the main stage to check out The Radiators, I got there to catch their last few songs.  Walked through the crowd and met up with more local friends before Jackie Greene came on.  Boppin’ through the crowd I stopped at The Karma Wash and planted flowers around the red carpet to brighten up the place and make it welcoming for all the people who needed their Karma Washed.

Jackie Greene: I was still wandering through the crowd, sayin hi to those I knew, and hello to those I met.  Jackie Greene is a hottie up there and I didn’t really notice much difference until John Molo joined in on drums for Scarlett.  Yay, when I heard Scarlett at all, I so tarted to bounce, but I didn’t realize Molo was on drums until after the set.  Molo wailed it, Jackie sang in true form and we slid into Ball and Chain.  Great last song.  Smile wide on my face.

Lunch Break:  Back to camp, hotdogs for lunch.  Yeah, that’ll do.

Steve Kimock and Crazy Engine: So, we sacrificed Steve’s set for hotdogs but I wanted to get back up there for Robert Randolph so I got the DeadVids crew together and we wandered up to the main stage.  As we were walking I heard my favorite P-Funk song Red Hot Mama and before I even got into the venue I knew Bernie Worrell was on stage.  I almost left my buddies behind me and I tried to sprint up to the stage to see Bernie.  And Red Hot Mama… ummmm, whooo.  You can’t go wrong with that song, and I was so glad I made it to hear that song.  But, as it goes, by the time I got up to the field, I heard, “Thank you Vibes, good night.”  Sigh.  Dagnabit.  Take a listen to what I missed…. dagnabit.

Sharon Jones and The Dap Kings: I have not seen Sharon Jones before and I knew I was in for a treat.  I was blown away by them.  Sharon Jones’ voice is incredible.  Like, Aretha+Grace Potter+Jen Durkin wailing.  The energy of this group was way high.  The beats?  Think funk with a huge entourage, horns, backup singers, Sharon’s incredible voice.  She’s my new favorite.  Loved this so much.  Can’t wait to see her again.  PLEASE PLEASE go see her if you haven’t already.  You wont be able to stop yourself from dancing.

Robert Randolph: Fun fun stuff.  Love Robert.  Love the steel pedal guitar he masterfully wails.  Love the band.  He raged it hard for the first couple of songs, then the middle of the set was some of his new stuff.  I wasn’t immediately hooked by it, but I wanted to try to assess the music.  I figured, it may not be my style of music, but it is now Robert’s new stuff, stuff he’s psyched about, and I wanted to give it a fair shot.  I’m still 50/50 on the new stuff, was very happy he bookended the set with his older style, but I want to hear more.  I want to listen again to the new stuff so I can be sure I can make a true assessment.  So, assessment on Robert’s new stuff:  unknown.  One last note – he had this schmata on his head, and I couldn’t figure out what the heck it was.  Scarf?  Bandana?  Shirt with a knot in it?  Again:  unknown.

The YouTubes are lacking, so for a giggle:

photo by: Doug Buckley

Furthur: Yep, we were all rollin in for the first major headliner of the weekend.  The boys.  My girls and I set up our chairs on the left of the soundboard and we had our space to dance.  The rumor mill had been spreading all day, and I had gotten a series of texts from friends telling me that Bobby had gotten dosed at Nokia a few days earlier, confirmed by PhilZone.  I had also heard that the whole backstage area at Vibes was in lockdown when Furthur came into the venue.  Lockdown as in even those with all access passes were having issues getting back there.  Serious stuff.  I looked up and was able to see stars (coming from NYC, this is a rare occurrence).  I looked around and I saw my tribe.  I felt the CT vibe, knowing I was in my local home territory.  It felt right.  I was shining.

Furthur Highlights: Jack Straw (we can share the women we can share the wiiiine).  Friend of the Devil was rockin – someone said to me, this is a rare one, and indeed it was, because I have not heard a FOTD in a long time.  FOTD was smokin’, Kadlecik shredded his guitar and it was truly a great song. The star, besides Phil is really John K. and Jeff Chimenti on keys.  I can’t say it enough, Jeff plays those keys and it makes the songs shine on a different level.  They sparkle.  Twinkle.  It is like Jeff puts another layer on top of the already incredible music being played by the band.  I do believe Jeff could be my favorite member of Furthur.

Then there was Help.  Yep.  Help on the Way into an incredible Slipknot with an amazing funky fun little jam in the Slipknot.  Into Franklin’s Tower.  Uh huh.  Donor Rap into Terrapin.  TERRAPIN.  Oh yeah, I danced, I sang with the crowd.  I partied and I swayed with the Vibe Tribe.  That was the highlight for me.  Help>Slip into Terrapin.  Thank you Furthur, Thank you.  For a real good time.

Late Night Show:  Mix Master Mike: I went and checked this out – Beastie Boys lover inside of me pulling me towards the Green Vibes stage.  I must be too old, but it wasn’t my thing.  Or maybe I couldn’t move anymore.  I wandered back to camp, walking near the water all the way home.  The camp family were already sleeping when I got there, so I chilled out and put myself to bed.  All for Day 3 tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

