Thurs, Aug 26, 2010: Birthday Extravaganza Day 1: Trombone Shorty

Trombone Shorty

My birthday extravaganza happened this past weekend, starting with NOLA funk down at the Water Taxi Beach with Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue w/ Jon Cleary. I danced in NOLA style and met new friends, and strangers alike.  It was the day 1 of the 4 day birthday celebration, and I had just begun to shed the week’s annoyances and focus in front of me.  With some burgers from the grill, friends mosey-ing around me, and some highly sweetened margaritas, I started it off on my dancin’ foot.

Thursday: Trombone Shorty, if you haven’t seen him, is a monster on that trombone.  Not to mention, a showman in his own right, he gets the crowd pumped, and blasts that trombone loudly, commanding attention.  Trombone Shorty not only plays trombone, but he plays trumpet, and there were already 2 saxophonists and a trumpetist up there.  It went down, it got funky, it was incredibly loud (thank goodness for my musician earplugs).  Highlights:  when the band all dropped their instruments and played drums/percussion for what it felt like 10 minutes.  I met Trombone Shorty (ok, I shook his hand), and I got a ride home from a good friend (thanks Peter!).  A perfect start to what became a perfect birthday.

Photo by: Robyn Gould

Jon Cleary

Friday:  Benevento/Russo Duo & Bobby Lee Rodgers, NYC.

Saturday:  Midnight Ramble w/ Levon Helm and special guests:  Assembly of Dust, Woodstock NY

Stay tuned for more.   This weekend is still being processed by my slow moving brain.

Leave a Reply

