Kung Fu, Sullivan Hall, Sept 3, 2010

I was excited to hear these guys.  The buzz from this band from The Gathering of the Vibes this year had been loud, and I had missed them.  With the latest announcement that Rob Somerville (saxophonist from Deep Banana Blackout and others) was joining the band made this a “not miss” on my calendar.

I went to say my congratulations to the band and my good wishes for a great show when I realized that I knew many of these great musicians from years past in college when I was a “Tongue -n- Groove” groupie back in the day.  Still, it is strange to say “I knew these guys back in the day,” but I did, and even though I felt I was showing my age, it was wonderful to reconnect with them all.

Not so sure how to classify these guys.  They are a groovy, funky, jazzy combination with loud keys, steady drums, a great bass groove, a shredding guitar and horns.  I’ve said it before, and I will say it again, when wind instruments (sax, flute, trombone, etc.) is added in the mix of a solid funky band always makes it better.  It’s like the cherry on top of the sundae, it doesn’t get much better than this.

Dave Livolsi (Bass)
Kris Jensen (Sax)
Rob Somerville (Sax)
Todd Stoops (Keyboards)
Tim Palmieri (Guitar)
Adrian Tramontano (Drums)

My notes are all over the place because I was dancing too hard to write.  The consensus from my pages of scribbles are:

  • technical difficulties through the first song.
  • the two saxs up in front, harmonizing, while there is a keys blowout, bass all deep, through the body low, somehow the keys are sounding like vocals, high synthesizing, lasers, oh my.
  • soprano sax comes out, gets crazy, crescendo-ing until there is jazzy insanity.
  • sweetness, groovy, fun… so fun.

The crowd was filled with old friends of the band, and new.  There were about 40-50 people in the joint, loved it because there was space to roam, and I could get up front and ride the rail with my railriding friends without feeling like I’d be claustrophobic.  For the representing peeps that showed up that hot summer evening were psyched to see Kung Fu’s first gig with the newest band member.  I was psyched to see them, period.

Lesson learned:  Kung Fu is coming… keep a lookout.  They are worth your time, and your dancin’ shoes.

One thought on “Kung Fu, Sullivan Hall, Sept 3, 2010

  1. Awesome!!!!! You know me and music and when I can totally jump into a group…..as heavy and hard as I did……they gotta be good!!!! They got the music you feel rather than hear……I am glad you enjoyed

Leave a Reply

