Book Review: The Last Block in Harlem by Christopher Herz

I picked up this book as a recommendation from a friend of mine.  I actually got the book months before I read it – well, it was summertime and I had been busy dancing at a lot of shows, so my down time was usually spent sleeping and not reading.  But I have to say, this book was a great end of the summer read.

The Last Block in Harlem was a great read, I actually devoured it in about 5 hours.  I’m known to devour books when I like the voice of the characters, and I just ate this up.  It obviously starts in Harlem, present time, and shows the essence of Harlem, the colors, the smells, the heart and energy of Harlem, NYC.

The narrator’s name is never revealed, and I’ll try not to say too much about the storyline – please just read it, it’s a great read – but it follows this man into a new world, away from the corporate bullsh*t and into an adventure of his own, taking pride in his neighborhood, meeting the characters that he never had the time to meet before, and enjoying the moments on his uptown ‘hood.  The serene calmness of it all gets riled up involving the local government, the beginnings of a local uprising/movement/taking back the power of a group of neighbors, and then gets all funky in the end.  I won’t reveal what happens, but hopefully you’ll pick it up and find out, and then I can talk to you about it.

Check out Amazon here:

Leave a Reply

