The Alchemystics, Spread Hope – CD Review

I first saw these guys on a hot summer afternoon, last 4th of July weekend at the Nateva festival.  I was blown away at the time, but haven’t been able to catch a show since.  Needless to say, I was eager to hear their new studio recording, which was released last month.

From their bio, “… the Alchemystics blend reggae, politically infused hip-hop, gritty soul, hard-driving rock, and pulsing Jamaican, Cuban and Trinidadian  rhythms into an utterly unique and distinctively original new sound. ” 

Yeah, I’d say that’s about right.  I took a ride to the country on Memorial Day, and turned them on the iPod.  They have a great groove, nice reggae roots, with a twist of hip-hop/dub.  The dub part reminded me of Thievery Corporation, and my head was boppin’ and my feet were tappin’.  Yep, I enjoyed that ride to the country.

Check the link below and grab the cd.  And catch them next time they’re around.  You’ll have a smile on your face when you leave the club.

www.thealchemystics.com

iTunes Download

Leave a Reply

