Day 2 Equifunk 2013, Camp Equinunk, PA

Saturday Morning, Day 2

9122_orig

I woke up hungry.  And worried that I was going to miss breakfast, or at least miss all the food.  And I needed coffee. Bad.  So I left my cabin mates and walked over the footbridge and wandered for the mess hall.  It was not where I thought it was – actually I had no idea where it was, but I needed coffee.  STAT.  There was a line for the food, but much to my welcome surprise there was food. The food was not going to run out.  The coffee was not running out.  They had bagels, eggs, bacon, waffles, coffee, tea, ice water and orange juice, fruit and cereal and milk.  It was a beautiful buffet.  I was happy. Sitting alone, eating my breakfast, finally having enough coffee in me to be able to focus on what was going on around me.  People looked about the way I felt.  I needed a shower.  Or a dip in the pool.  And I just needed more coffee.

I took a doggie bag back with me for my cabin-mates, and took the walk back to my camp, yes over the footbridge again, past the lake, through the woods, up the hill to my cabin.  My cabin-mates were waking and slowly getting motivated to go see Superhuman Happiness, a supergroup whose members are all key NYC players with a collective resume that stretches across a dizzying array of talent, including Antibalas, Phenomenal Handclap Band, TV on the Radio, Iron & Wine and Martha Wainwright among numerous others. They were formed in 2008 to seek joy and love through shared rhythm and melody, composed and improvised. Their mission is to pursue a happiness greater than that experienced by an individual mind.  I got my chair, and my towel and got my cocktails in order and went back through the woods, over the footbridge, through the Equinunk cabin quad, up the hill to the pool area where there was a stage playing music all day.

9570631391_9031399055_b

photo by: Phrazz

The sun was beautiful. It was not muggy. It was not cloudy. It was a perfect day.  I spent the afternoon there, near the beer tables, next to the ladies in their bikinis, the guys doing beer funnels (I kid you not), and the cool refreshing pool to my right.  It. Was. Heaven.

9570200129_1040a277d9_o

photo by: Phrazz

Highlights on this day was: Keller & The Keels, The Heavy Pets (who doesn’t love the Heavy Pets?), and of course Marco Benevento.  OK, so it was the whole lineup.  I also caught lunch and dinner, which was served outside on the grass.  I was amazed that the food didn’t run out, that the beer didn’t run out, and the servers were so happy and helpful to feed us.  I felt like we were really at camp.  And I liked this camp a lot.

9573461614_849737c4eb_b

photo by: Phrazz

I trekked back to the cabin for some warmer clothing for the evening extravaganza, which included The Nigel Hall Band, Anders Osborne, Soulive with Maceo Parker and The New Mastersounds (again.)  I had forgotten about Anders and Maceo, and I pretty much floated back to the E-rena for more.

photo by: Dino Perrucci

photo by: Dino Perrucci

Anders. Oh Anders.  I love this guitarist for the mere fact that he is a shredding guitar man, who can sing, who throws in some killer Neil Young tunes in his reperoitoire. He’s also an amazing songwriter.  His songs come from the heart, they are very deep, soulful songs. These days, singing and jamming are a rarity.  On this night, he was playing with the inimitable John Medeski on keys, and the whole place lit up with excitement.  I couldn’t keep my eyes off of Anders and his guitar, and had officially entered bliss.

photo by: Dino Perrucci

photo by: Dino Perrucci

Next up was the super funk trio, Soulive, with their Shady Horns, and James Casey, and the Sax Master himself Maceo Parker. Again, I was amazed to be watching this in such an intimate E-rena, this…the man who I have listened to my whole life, whose sax notes are etched into my brain. WOW. He came, He played, He blew the place down, He smiled as he left the stage. I actually was standing next to him at one point, and I was awestruck. I couldn’t do anything but stare at him. I must have looked like a complete dork. I didn’t really care. It was Maceo after all.

9570210261_661e25865b_b

photo by: Phrazz

And then came The New Mastersounds again, to end this night off with a blast in your face of funk and fun. Eddie Roberts was now sitting on a stool, his ankle broken, his poor toes cold with a sock hanging off of it. You couldn’t really tell any difference though, because the energy was just as high, the sound was right on point, and we kept this party going until almost 4:30 in the morning.

9573464220_beb4f7b68c_b

photo by: Phrazz

I heard the next morning that Marco played his midnight set around the campfire until after 9am. I remember seeing some sort of a drum circle near the teepee stage as I stumbled home, over the footbridge to my cabin. Sorry to have missed it, but here is a great YouTube of it all.

PS: I slept like a baby.

Set Lists:
Keller Williams & More Than A Little

MTAL, Freeky, Let’s Jam, Bitch, Naive Melody (Talking Heads), Hollywood, Sampson & Delilah, Wine, West L.A.Fadeaway, Mary Jane, Right Here, Once in a Lifetime (Heads), Wicked, Freeker, Hey Ho.

The Heavy Pets

Help Me Help You (w James Casey), Xylophone, Slow Down, Lost Babies, Spin Roll, Chevrolet, 3 AM.

Marco Benevento

Greenpoint, Eagle Rock, Real Morning Party, This Is How It Goes, Limbs of a Pine, If I Get To See You Again (new song).

Nigel Hall Band

Don’t Change, Gimme a Sign, Make It Funky, Layaway, Hang It Up, Baby I Do Love You, e: Never Gonna Let You Go.

Anders Osborne w John Medeski, Scott Metzger

Echoes, Back on Dumaine, GDTRFB, Had My Reasons, Me and Lola, Mind of a Junkie, Everybody Must Get Stoned, WIBUOMF, Pleasin’ U, Charlie; e: After Midnight.

Soulive & Shady Horns w Maceo Parker

Manic Depression, Uncle Jr., Hatrick, El Ron, Vapor, Eleanor Rigby (Beatles) > 3rd Stone from the Sun (Hendrix), Uptown Up* (Maceo Parker), Shake Everything You’ve Got* (Maceo), Night Time Is The Right Time* (Ray Charles), There Was A Time* (James Brown), Pass The Peas* (The J.B.’s), e: Everybody Wants to Rule the World^ (Tears for Fears).   [ * – w/ Maceo Parker ; ^ – w/ Nigel Hall ]

The Infamous Benevento’s Campfire Sing-a-long

01. Rainy Day Women ♯12 & 35 (Bob Dylan)
02. Fearless > (Pink Floyd)
03. Bennie And The Jets (Elton John)
04. Fearless (Pink Floyd)
05. That’s the Way (Led Zeppelin)
06. RISD (Marco Benevento)
07. I Fell In Love Today > (Ween)
08. She’s Not There (The Zombies)
09. Atari (Marco Benevento)
10. The Real Morning Party (Marco Benevento) * with 9 to 5 (Dolly Parton) ending

Set played until 9:15 a.m., songs included (but not limited to):
Limbs of a Pine (Marco Benevento)
Axel F (Harold Faltermeyer)
Rock & Roll (The Velvet Underground)
The Ocean (Led Zeppelin)
Fly Me To The Moon (Bart Howard)
Linus and Lucy (Vince Guaraldi)
Take A Look At My Girlfriend (Supertramp)
Thank You [Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin] (Sly and the Family Stone) >
Everyday People (Sly and the Family Stone)
I Saw Her Standing There (The Beatles)
Yellow Submarine (The Beatles)
Funiculì, Funiculà (Luigi Denza)
The Shape I’m In (The Band)
Dancing In The Streets (Marvin Gaye)
Why Don’t We Do It In The Road (The Beatles)
Gimme Some Lovin’ (Steve Winwood)
Walk On > (Neil Young)
Frankenstein > (Edgar Winter Group)
Don’t Stop ’til You Get Enough (Michael Jackson)
Fearless (Pink Floyd)
**No Recording Gap**
I Heard It Through The Grapevine (Marvin Gaye)
Like a Rolling Stone (Bob Dylan)
My Girl (The Temptations)
Goodnight Sweetheart Goodnight (The Spaniels)
Such A Night (Dr. John)
New Marco song? >
Let The Sun Shine In (Hair)
You Know I’m No Good (Amy Winehouse)
Lean On Me (Bill Withers)
Bennie And The Jets (Elton John)
Don’t You Worry ‘Bout A Thing (Stevie Wonder)
Imagine (John Lennon)
Home Sweet Home (Aerosmith)
Old Man (Neil Young)
Some Kind of Wonderful (The Drifters)
I Got You [I Feel Good] (James Brown)
With a Little Help from My Friends (The Beatles)
Saturday In The Park Lyrics (Chicago)
Let The Sun Shine In (Hair)
Light My Fire (The Doors)
Let’s Make A Better World (Dr. John)
Shake Your Tail Feather (Ray Charles)
Sunshine Of Your Love (Cream)
jam * with Nigel Hall *

Leave a Reply

